Ooey Gooey Sticky Chewy

Just wanted to post about the cookies I made today. Tried out one of the choc chip cookie recipes from my new Vegan Cookie Connoisseur book (one of about five in there!)
Even used my own home-made apple sauce. I wasn’t totally sure about apple sauce in a cookie recipe as I’m not really a fan of the stuff. But as it’s in the recipe and we had some bruised and not very nice apples that needed a purpose, I made some and stuck it in the cookies.
Apples sauce was really simple. I cut up the apples and cored them, I didn’t peel them partly because i couldn’t be bothered and also because I didn’t want to waste a load of the apple. Then I cut the apple into smaller pieces and put in a pan with enough water to cover them and just boiled them until they broke down. I used a fork a bit to encourage the breaking up, mashing the apples against the side of the pan. I thought about taking the skin out, as it doesn’t break down like the flesh, but instead I removed the skin pieces, cut it up into tiny pieces and put it back in the mix, minimal waste 🙂 As they were eating apples, not cooking apples, I didn’t add much sugar, I also didn’t want to make it too sweet if it was going in cookies. I also added a small amount of cinnamon, because I like cinnamon and it goes well with apples.
The final product didn’t look too great (hence no photo) but it did look like apple sauce.

The cookies worked out really well. They look good, they smell good and they are very yummy :p Texture is great, crisp on the outside but soft and chewy inside. No apple taste, not that I dislike the taste of apple, but choc chip cookies shouldn’t taste of apple. The batch made a few more than are pictured, a certain amount of taste testing was required, oops. Will probably take most of them into work though, as I so often talk about making cookies that never make it as far as other people. It will also save me from the guilt of eating a while batch of cookies on my own.

P1040960

Oh yes :p I’m going to enjoy those.
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

