Ingredients

I’m not sure how relevant the title will be to the post, but I wasn’t sure what else to call it. I hadn’t meant to leave it this long since last time, but, between actual work and feeling screwed up, I haven’t had time or inspiration to write.
I have, thus far, not followed through with my near acceptance of joining a gym. I have, however, been making significant efforts to work out at home. I have been trying to find out more about the best types of exercise to o given my thyroid condition and the specific areas I want to target. Unfortunately, I find the more I read about exercise the less inclined I am to do it. Largely I think this is due to how difficult some people can make it sounds, expecially compared to the amount of effort I think I will reasonably be able to muster. My biggest concerns at the moment are my thighs, bum and hip area, so the advice largely seems to be aerobic exercise (ie. jogging), squats and lunges. Doesn’t seem too bad, except, I read on one site that, for a woman, it can take at least 30-40 minutes of aerobic exercise before you start to burn fat. So, factoring in my lousy metabolosim, I could be looking at maybe 50 minutes or even an hour of aerobic exercise BEFORE I started to burn fat. Now I just know that that is beyond me, not even being defeatist, an hour of jogging!? No way. I have been making my best efforts so far, with a couple of 30 minute Wii aerobic sessions and a couple of 20-25 minute non-computer aided jogging sessions in just a week. To be honest I think I can already notice a difference, which is nice as I normally give up from lack of visible results. No change in scale readings yet though :/
I have been wanting to make brownies for about a week as well, inspired by seeing Katie last Wednesday. Unfortunately my exercise and calorie related guilt has prevented me, alongside a lack of some ingredients, most notably, silken tofu. Yesterday I finally got around to getting out to the international food store and getting the necessary tofu so I can now make brownies whenever I wish. Ideally I should wait until I will be seeing people so I can share them and not pig out all on my own, but I’m only human πŸ™‚
I’ve also been looking into how to make a vegan caramel slice. I have the recipe but need to source some ingredients like powdered soy milk to make condensed soy milk with. I’ve found it on the internet but I have heard there is a new health food shop not too far from my flat so I intend to walk there tomorrow and check it out. There are some other things I’m interesting in getting hold of for other vegan recipes, like agar for meringues and egg replacer just to generally test.

I saw my friend Hannah today, who I have known since secondary school (maybe 12 or 13 years ago!) but am very bad at arranging to see regularly. As seeing people more is one of my resolutions I will definitely be making more effort to see her. I had a good afternoon just sat chatting with her, we talked a lot about movies. I like movies but am bad at getting to the cinema to see them (you may know my opinion on cinema prices) and then even worse at remembering the films I wanted to see after they have been released on DVD. Hannah seems to see a lot of movies, particularly less mainstream / more interesting movies, which I generally find more appealing than blockbuster, big name, hollywood drivel. The discussions have inspired me to make a list of movies I want to see, and subsequently start watching. I would start watching them this evening but Indianna Jones and The Last Crusade is on BBC1 at 8, and I have always liked the Indy films πŸ™‚

That’s quite a lot of waffle considering I didn’t really have a plan when I started out.
Hope you are well
Betty
x

3 thoughts on “Ingredients

  1. This is incredibly random seeing as you don't know me. However…my husband told me the other day that he heard on the radio about a study that was conducted with members of a gym. They each did different exercise regimes e.g. 1 hour jog every day or weights 3 times a week etc then tested their fitness levels at the end of, say 3 months.

    Well apparently they all increased their fitness levels by 25% except for one woman who increased hers by 50%. Guess what she did….4 mins a day – she sprinted for 30 secs then rested for 30 secs then sprint for 30 secs…etc for 4 mins each day.

    He told me because I was using the well worn and brilliant excuse that I don't have time for the gym.

    Thought you may benefit from that little tidbit πŸ™‚

    Nice blog by the way and good luck
    Faye
    xx

    Like

  2. Oooooo, you are my first commenter! This is very exciting πŸ™‚
    I like the sound of this approach to exercise very much. I do have a vague recollection of reading about some fancy designer exercise regime that worked on a similar theory of short sharp bursts. So maybe there is something to it. It sounds much more appealing than 30 minutes of jogging so I think I'll give it a go.
    Thanks for popping by and commenting. I always find random contact pleasing so hearing from you has been lovely.
    Hope you are well
    Betty
    x

    Like

  3. Your very welcome.

    I just asked him and it was not on the radio at all. He was told about it by a personal trainer no less! It just gets better and better πŸ˜€

    I am very honoured to be your first commenter. I know how it feels to have a lonely blog and mines only been going for about 36 hours. I feel very small in a very large internet universe

    Take care
    xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

