So much for the exercise

I have actually been exercising, but today I baked brownies and shortbread, which will need some serious working off :/


The recipes were both from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, although I adapted the brownies a bit. I’d not tried the shortbread before but I’m pleased with how it worked out. I was concerned as my dough didn’t look as crumbly as the recipe suggested but it came out fine, in fact if the dough had been crumby I think the finished product might have been too dry. I went for a rustic finish, as I had to spread out the dough on a baking tray, in theory in should be made in a nice round tin but it’s not like it affects the flavour! It was really quite simple, creamed together vegan marg and sugar, then add vanilla, flour, cornflour, baking powder and salt, with a bit of sugar to sprinkle on top when it comes out of the oven.
The brownies I have done before, but I added syrup and melted chocolate to the recipe as brownies rarely work out as gooey and fudgey as I like them. It definitely made the difference, the texture is great, crisp on top and insanely gooey and chewy in the middle, although, if anything, they may be a bit too rich (not that I’m complaining). The recipe uses silken tofu, but only a quarter of a pack, so there is now three quarters of a pack of silken tofun in my fridge, so looks like I’ll be whipping up some more brownies soon and maybe some blondies too (blonde brownies rather than an 80’s pop group).

I’ve already had more than one persons worth of brownie and shortbread for one evening, although it’s only 9.20 and I don’t think I’ll be going to bed for a while, will be a trial to keep myself from eating more. If anyone is bored and fancies helping me out with some of them, let me know 🙂
See you later
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

