My January Acquisitions

I’m sure I’m not the only one who began January with expectations of cutting back and saving a bit of cash after Christmas. I also don’t expect I’m the only one who failed miserably at this and gave in to the urge to shop. Partly, this is due to the fact I love clothes and accessories, but it doesn’t help that I spend the majority of my time working at my computer and I am easily distracted :/

I posted about this top when I first saw it in an email I received from Dorothy Perkins.

I’ve long had a soft spot for coral, although hadn’t bought anything in coral before this. Unfortunatley this may be the begining of a long line of new coral items in my possesion, especially as it seems to be a key colour for spring (I’m not overly bothered about fashion, but if something I like is widely availble due to being ‘on trend’ it would be foolish of me to ignore the opportunity). I have also got a long term love of swallows and bird motifs in general, partly due to my tattoo fetish.
I love this top. Now it just needs to get warm enough for me to be able to wear it!!

After buying the top I decided I wanted a coral lipstick and coral nail varnish, not necessarily to all be worn at the same time though. My problem with buying make-up is that it’s quite hard to pick colours on a computer screen, which is my prefered method of shopping these days. But when I came across Marks & Spencers Essentials Nail Varnishes at £2.50 (bargain!) I figured it was worth a gamble. I bought what looked like an orangey coral, a pinkey coral and a tealish green, plus a coral lipstick they also had for £6.

M&S Essential Nail Colours in Flame, Plastic Pink and Jade; Flame; Plastic Pink; M&S lippy in Coral

I haven’t tried the Jade out yet, hence no picture. In all honesty, I’m not very good at wearing nail varnish. I have very little patience for sitting to let it dry in the first place, so it usually gets dented or picks up fabric textures. If I do manage to get it to dry in reasonable condition, I usually go about my daily activities with little regard for the varnish. I managed to destroy the plastic pink pretty quickly by cooking dinner which involved grating potatoes for a rosti followed by washing my hair :/ That probably doesn’t sound like a great endorsement for these varnishes, but even very expensive ones don’t last very long on me, which is why I rarely spend a lot on them. Neither of the ‘coral’ ones really met my expectations, flame is very orange and plastic pink is very pink, both are lovely in their oen right, but I’m still looking for a truly coral varnish.
Lipstick is a whole other story. I love lipstick, it makes me feel fantastic and glamourous. My bright red lippy is my favorite, but isn’t always suitable. This one is more subtle but still all the glam of lipstick (over lip gloss), probably more ‘appropriate’, not that one always wants to be appropriate. I haven’t got a pic of me wearing is as whenever I sit down to photograph things I don’t have the rest of my face on, so there’s no way you’re getting to see it! My only concern is it has seemed a bit bitty, if that makes sense, leaving flakes on my lips, but it may just be that I have dry lips at the moment, I’ll have to try it again soon to see.

Next up, a few of the purchases I made in Reading on Sunday;

Small change purse in leopard print with cute pink bow and roses
(Can’t find this on their website to provide a link)
I really needed a new purse. I had a great pink glittery hard case purse that my sister got me for Christmas last year (that is 09 not 10!). I loved it, but unfortunately it just wasn’t cut out for carrying the amount of change I manage to accumulate (I love change!). In my brief look around I didn’t manage to find much that catered for my change needs, I’m sure you used to be able to get purses with massive change pockets as wide as the note section, but I guess that’s not the fashion these days. Hence, I ended up getting a separate little purse especially for my change. Not sure if having a change purse makes me a bit of an old lady, but I’m also not sure I really care! These two are both from Accessorize, who do have a pretty good range.
Oooooo, hair accessories. I have a massive weakness for hair accessories, and a growing love for brooches, so this ticked all my boxes. I found it in Oasis and fell in love. I’m pretty sure I could make something pretty similar, but sometimes it’s just nice to buy yourself something. I’ve still had a look into fabric and will probably have a shot at making more anyway.
Swallow brooch
(Can’t find this online to provide a link)
Following on my birdy theme from the blouse, another Oasis find that I had to have. No idea where/when I’m going to wear it. I really like brooches but not sure in what situation I can make use of them yet. I love this so much I’m contemplating putting it on a chain and wearing it as a necklace just so I can show it off.
I’ve bought other bits and pieces along the way, but you don’t need to know about everything I buy! Do you?
A new month means a new lot of money and I’m pretty sure it won’t be long before I start on my February purchases 🙂
Love
Betty
x
Leave a Reply

