On Wednesday, I made the long journey into London for work reasons. Now while the train journey from where I live to London is only around an hour and a half, as I was visiting my parents in North Wales, my actual journey was closer to three and a half hours. The only plus point was that the train from North Wales went into Euston, and the meeting I was attending was in the Wellcome Collection on Euston Road, therefore removing the need for any hectic tube travel. It was also fortunate that my event was not due to start until 1pm, so I was able to get a train just after 9, rather than at some in-human hour of the morning.
The train journey wasn’t actually too bad. I got to enjoy some lovely views of the North Wales coastline and did some reading, and, all-in-all, the journey went really rather swiftly.
Euston station itself actually looks a lot more like a small shopping centre than a  train station, with a WH Smith, Boots, Paperchase, Bodyshop, Accessorize, Pret a Manger and a Nando’s, amongst other things. Outside there was a stand, manned by eager young sales people, trying to get people to but electronic cigarettes. One of said sales people tried to engage me in conversation and apparently was not put off his sales pitch by me announcing that I do not, and never have, smoked, therefore giving me absolutely no interest in an electronic cigarette.
Further along the two minute walk between the station and my destination, there was a woman holding a number of clear plastic bags, offering them to passers-by with the phrase “Free Lunch?”. My instant reaction to someone offering me things on the street is No, as it was in this case. Within a second of saying No I scoulded myself for being so sceptical of people’s intentions. I know they say there’s no such thing as a free lunch, but why was my first thought that there would be some inherent catch in accepting the lady’s free lunch. In fairness, I expect the catch was that the free lunch was a form of advertising some new food product, which isn’t really that big a deal, unless you’re some kind of extreme, anti-branding, Marxist type. Which I am not. I’d almost convinced myself to take a free lunch by the time I reached the second girl handing them out, until I remembered I was attending an event with a lunch put on, so a free lunch was likely to be of more use to someone else and if I took it and ate it, that would simply increase the potential for wasted food. So, cutting a long story short, I did not accept a free lunch on the street.
After arriving at the event and seeing the lunch that had been put on, I kind of wished I had accepted the promotional free lunch. The selection of dolphin-friendly tuna, ham and mustard, beef and cheese sandwiches was not exactly thrilling. I was left with only the one option of tuna, given I don’t eat beef, find cheese sandwiches disgusting and, while I like ham, absolutely cannot stand mustard. It was only after I’d had two tuna sandwiches I realised I was going to be required to meet and converse with people, so fish breath probably wasn’t a good idea.
The event itself was ok, I’ve certainly been to longer and more boring ones, but there also isn’t much worth passing comment on here.
I got a train home just after 6, although there was a track related delay, and I didn’t get back in to the station near my parents until around 10. Having been up since 7, I was so very, very tired. I also made the mistake of grabbing a quick dinner in Burger King, which left me feeling incredibly sick the whole way home. I don’t know why I did it, I strongly dislike Burger King chips and the Chicken Royal I had was so full of mayonnaise and lettuce I barely noticed the actual ‘chicken’ content. Even thinking about it makes me feel ill now. I won’t be making that mistake again soon.

I have a number of other things I wish to share with you, including the most incredible tea pot that my mum has given me. Being sans camera (due to the boyf being in Europe) I am going to have to mess around trying to get a good shot using my web cam. It’s not a very high quality camera and the light in the flat is very poor, so I’ll need to rig something up with a lamp to get an image that you can actually see!

Anyway, thank you for reading, I’ve been feeling lousy and this has suitable distracted me for a time.
Hope you are all well,
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

