My Birthday

Last Saturday was my birthday. I turned 26.
I’ve long had a funny relationship with birthdays. When I was younger I didn’t have many friend, and with my birthday being in the summer holidays, any friends I did have were often away. So I remember a lot of lonely birthdays that, over time, led to me not being that bothered about celebrating them. My previous two birthdays (24 and 25), since meeting my wonderful boyfriend, have been the best I’ve ever had, what with being thoroughly spoilt and having a couple of good parties. However, as he’s away this year and wasn’t going to be here for my birthday, I wasn’t really looking forward to this one. I didn’t want to organise anything and was pretty much set on spending the day on my own and ignoring the occasion.
In the end, my mum came down to stay for a few days over my birthday weekend to keep me company and prevent me spending it on my own. Me, my mum and my sister went out for dinner on the Friday night. We had some good food and a few drinks. Then my very good friends Katie and Jenny decided to come over on my birthday to see me and help me celebrate. Despite my diet, I got in a lot of cake and we had a very nice little celebration.
I was thoroughly spoilt with presents, including loads from my boy Peter who had bought everything and wrapped it before he went away more than a month in advance (the pile of presents sitting on the side for that long were almost too much to resist!).

My sister bought me a few Soap & Glory products; a body wash, body scrub and a soap moulded with nodules for massaging (good for cellulite apparently), not sure if she was trying to tell me something :/ I do love Soap & Glory products, they work well, smell good, aren’t too pricey and have awesome retro styling 🙂
She also got me some leopard print hair bows, a large selection of earrings and a purple nail polish.

Leopard print hair bows from my sister

Soap & Glory Body Scrub from my sister

My boyfriend, Pete got me a selection of books, Wuthering Heights, Frankenstein and a collection of work by Edgar Allan Poe. I also got Dracula on DVD, the 1992 film with Gary Oldman and Winona Ryder, a small stone box that he picked up while we were on holiday in Gozo, a pretty blue dress, a case for my super duper new camera and a parasol, that was also bought while we were in Gozo.

Wuthering Heights from Pete

Blue Dress from Pete
Parasol from Pete

My main present from my parents wa a contribution toward my fancy new camera, even though I bought it two months ago because I wanted to take it on holiday. Even though that was a more than generous gift, my mum got me a few bits to open on the day. I got a collection of mismatched socks, funky and useful, I rarely bother to wear matching socks and my mum threw out a load of my old socks while she was here because she said they were too old and worn 😦
She also got me a set of decorative swallows to hang on the wall, there are three of them, a large one, a medium one and a small one, like the kitsch old sets of ducks that people used to have. It’s strange really, as I saw an item on a TV show last week about the fashion of having the ducks on the wall, and there was a lady who had a whole collection of them in different styles, including swallows. As soon as I saw them I wanted them, and so was really suprised when I saw y mum had got me some without me even having mentioned them. I haven’t hung them yet, I need to get some nails, but I’ll put up a picture when I have.

The largest of the wall swallows from my mum (please excuse my shiney face)
My friend Katie went a little overboard with presents. She got me a pink mug with the slogan “Eat a Cupcake and Move On”, along with some cupcake tissues, for emergency situations, as well as a “Keep Calm and Eat a Cupcake” poster and a book on making zombie/horror themed cupcakes. Jenny, my other wonderful friend who came to see me, got me two sewing guides, one for making a skirt and the other for making a cloak. I am very excited to try those out 🙂
Motivational Poster from Katie
Emergency mug and tissues from Katie
Zombie Cupcake book from Katie
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sewing Books from Jenny
There was a lot of cake involved in the celebrations. Which was great, except for the fact I’m supposed to be on a diet, although I didn’t put on as much weight as I’d feared, should be easily fixable. Katie made a massive batch of cakepops which looked and tasted awesome. I also bought a mini patisserie selection from Waitrose which had mini eclairs, mini tarts and little macaroons, amongst other things. We cut them all up and shared so we got to try a lot of different things without eating too much cake overall 🙂 I hadn’t had chance or motivation to bake myself, so I bought some cupcakes, although they didn’t actually get eaten on my birthday, due to the plethora of other options.
My birthday cake was amazing. Chocolate, obviously. It had really beautiful chocolate fondant roses on top 🙂 I probably ate more of that than I should have, but only just finished it today.
Carrot cake Cakepop by Katie
Chocolate Mouse Shaped Cakepop by Katie
Lego head cakepop by Katie
Cherry design cupcakes
Mini patisserie selection
Beautiful birthday cake
Making a wish 🙂

 
So, overalll it was a pretty good birthday, certainly much better than I was expecting 🙂 I wasn’t even that bothered about being another year older, which I have been the past few years.
On the Sunday, the day after my birthday, I went to a barbecue at my friend’s Kirstin and Mandela’s place, with yet more cake 🙂
 
Has been a bit hard getting back to work after the weekend, but I’ve managed to make some decent progress. Back on the exercise again as well, work of all that cake.
Hope all is well,
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

