The conundrum of baking whilst on a diet

As you may well be aware, I have been on a ‘diet’ of sorts for about six weeks now. I say ‘diet’, it’s more trying to eat sensibly and with fewer snacks than I did before, significantly fewer snacks, with a greater awareness of the calorie content of things. Ever since sitting down and calculating the calorie content of a cupcake I have been too terrified to bake, with visions of taking a bite and every seam of my clothing splitting open as I instantly gain a stone. Ok, that’s a bit dramatic, but not actually a million miles from the actual fears racing through my mind.
Finally, this morning, I got on the scales to discover I had reached the weight that I had been hoping for, 10 and a half stone! Although I didn’t feel quite the level of elation that I had anticipated, I am still pretty pleased with myself. In celebration I decided it was time I indulged my baking passion once more, by breaking out my slightly-adapted-for-a-lower-calorie-content cookie recipe.

Pure Dairy-free Sunflower Spread

Agave Syrup

The base recipe came from the Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar book by Isa Chandra Moskowitz except I replaced the oil for Pure Dairy Free Sunflower Spread and some of the sugar for Agave nectar, as both contain fewer calories than the original ingredients.
I wasn’t totally sure the recipe would work, as the recipe goes on about some sort of reaction between the oil and sugar, and I had no idea how essential this would be to the finished product! Fortunately, they came out well. The mix didn’t spread as much in the oven as when made with oil, but that’s hardly the end of the world. Maybe the finished products are a little soft, but I honestly don’t know if that’s down to the recipe or my rubbish oven, I’ll bake them longer next time to see. On the most important point, taste, they are definitely a success. Also, with getting 14 out of a batch, based on my calculations, they’re only around 100 calories each, which isn’t bad for a cookie!!

Mixture with Vanilla, pre chocolate chips

Mix with chocolate 🙂

Cookies!

Now my next task is to control myself so I don’t eat them all in one sitting :/
I have used the agave syrup before, but only in recipes where it was prescribed. I think I shall be trying it out as a sugar substitution in some other recipes. I had never heard of it before I started my journey into vegan baking. It come from the agave plant, which I have been led to believe is a cactus and is also used in the production of tequila. Apparently, it’s popular in vegan baking as an alternative to honey, as vegans class honey as an animal product. I’ve also heard things about agave being potentially suitable for diabetics, but I’d check that out for yourself, don’t take my expression of vague hear-say as fact.

Anyway,
Hope you are keeping well,
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

