Home Grown

I love my garden. Well, the communal garden for our flats, that no-one else really uses.
In the year and a half we have lived here I have filled almost every available space with fruit and veg plants.

This year I’ve had purple sprouting broccoli, green beans, kidney beans, strawberries, raspberries, onions, courgettes, peas and about a million tomatoes.
The tomatoes have just been getting red and ripe enough to pick this week. One slight problem. I am not a big fan of raw tomatoes :/ Fortunately, a good proportion of the meal I cook involve tomato sauce (not ketchup, just a sauce made out of tomatoes), so after my first tomato harvest I set about cooking up my own sauce.

DSC00993 DSC00991

Growing tomatoes is really easy, and making them into sauce is possibly even easier. More people should grow their own, it’s satisfying 🙂

All I did to make the sauce was wash the tomatoes, chop them up into a pan, add some boiling water, bring to boil then reduce heat to a simmer and leave for about half an hour, stirring occasionally (I am a compulsive stirrer of food in pans :/). I also added some seasoning to taste, just salt, pepper, mixed herbs and a bit of sugar this time, but you could add chili, garlic, basil or a whole range of other seasonings, depending on what you want. If you want a really smooth sauce you can strain it through a sieve to remove seeds and skin, I didn’t bother though.

DSC00996

It’s times like these that I’m glad I inherited my mothers habit of collecting things that might be useful; in this case, jars!

DSC01003

I haven’t used the sauce yet, but it was yummy when I was tasting it while it was cooking. I think there’s going to a lot more sauce making in the near future, there are so many tomatoes out there!!

Best Wishes,
Betty
x

2 thoughts on “Home Grown

  1. Mwahahahahah I love tomatoes and I know where you live. Don't be surprised if you come home one day and all your tomatoes are gone….

    Like

Leave a Reply

