What to do with your skin when you’re 26

My skin has been really poor lately, more oily than usual, getting far more spots and blemishes and just generally not looking great. I’ve never suffered from particularly problem skin, but I did think that, at the age of 26, I’d be beyond troublesome teenage skin!
My skin care regime has been a bit mixed up in recent months, mostly due to my confusion as to how someone in their mid-twenties should treat their skin. The focus of advice for twenty-something skin seems to be the impending threat of aging, but I’m still too busy trying to stop breakouts to pay too much attention to wrinkles I don’t even have yet. I know there is so much advice threat advocates early action for best results, but I’m afraid and deviation from my war on blemishes and oil will have hideous consequences. Also, no point lying about it, the cost of age defense treatments is a major disincentive for me, if I can get moisturiser for a fiver, is a Ā£20 anti-aging cream really four times as good? At some point I suppose I will have to take the plunge and see.
I am really trying to kick my Clearasil/Clean&Clear habit, apparently they’re too strong for my ‘more mature’ skin. The fact that I am using them and am still suffering from troublesome skin just goes to show that they really aren’t working for me anymore.
I’m hoping this horrible stage won’t last too long, hopefully it will just be a phase caused by warm weather, too much work and changes in my diet. In the meantime, I made a trip to Boots this afternoon to get hold of some bad skin first aid.

Oil Free Moisturiser. Exfoliator. Witch hazel Cleanser.
Cleanser to remove the oil and prevent blocked pores. Exfoliator to further reduce build up of oil. Oil free moisturiser because, despite my skin being oily, it can still get quite dry.
I’ve already given the products a test run and my skin is still feeling pretty good, even after a couple of hours. The moisturiser is actually really good, it adsorbed really quickly and left my skin feeling moisturised but definitely not oily. With a slight nod to aging prevention, the moisturiser does have SPF 15, and sun damage will exacerbate the effects of aging, so that’s a step in the right direction! The witch hazel cleanser is also nice to use, it doesn’t smell too strongly and leaves your skin feeling instantly refreshed. I don’t think this properly counts as a teen spot treatment that I’m meant to avoid, does it? I’ll keep up the routine for a while and see what happens, probably with the addition of the occasional face mask, I’m not sure how much long term good they do, but I like the feeling of pampering myself šŸ™‚

I’m also experimenting with a bit of an unusual mattifier to take the shine off my face, as I really hate being shiny šŸ˜¦ I want to give it a bit longer before I write about it, but so far I’m pretty pleased.

Fingers crossed my skin picks up a bit soon, in three weeks my boyfriend is back from three months working in the US, and I don’t want to be a horrible oily, spotty mess when he sees me again!
I don’t suppose anyone has any skin care tips to share?
Has anyone tried pore cleansing strips before? I’m considered them for my nose, but I’m not convinced how well they’ll work.

Love,
Betty
x

5 thoughts on “What to do with your skin when you’re 26

  1. You have gorgeous skin! But treating yourself sounds like a good idea šŸ™‚
    I hear monistat (Sp?!) anti chaffing gel works very well as a primer for most people. It didn't agree with my skin so if you ever wanna give it a go you can have my barely used tube. Love ya, Kitty xxxx

    Like

  2. Hey,

    I know how you feel about skincare products! I've always had pretty bad skin and over the years I've spent Ā£Ā£Ā£'s trying to find stuff that works. But in the last few years I've actually avoided using products specifically designed for spot-prone skin, and it has done wonders!! (Although today you wouldn't know it, as I have an absolutely HUGE zit on my jawline! Hormones!)

    This is what I now use in my skincare routine, morning and night:

    To cleanse:
    I use Dermologica UltraCalming Cleanser, which at around Ā£30 for a 500ml bottle is a fairly pricey initial outlay, but it does last up to 6 months. It's designed for environmentally sensitive and stressed skin. It cleanses really well and even keeps blackheads at bay.

    To tone:
    I use Liz Earle's Skin Tonic Toner. It's fab because it doesn't contain any alcohol. I find that if I use toners containing alcohol (like all the toners for spot-prone skin seem to contain) it dries my skin out too much, causing it to produce more oil!

    To moisturise:
    I'm currently using a Liz Earle moisturiser, but I usually use Dermalogica Active Moist. Both are really good for oily skin! And I use an eye cream too – and have done since I was about 16 years old. It's a “time delay” eye cream, but it is a cheap-ish one.

    Exfoliation:
    I exfoliate no more than twice a week. I read somewhere that too much exfoliating stimulates the sebum glands which can result in more spots.

    And I've used pore strips before… They didn't work very well for me unfortunately. šŸ˜¦

    Good luck with the new products! Let me know if you want to test out any of the products I use – I can decant some off for you šŸ˜‰

    Stacey
    xxx

    Like

  3. Well your skin always looks great Stacey, so you must be doing something right! If what I'm doing now doesn't work I'll look into some of those products. Sometimes a small expense can be a good investment šŸ™‚
    x

    Like

  4. My skin is the same as when we were at school. I have been trying different skincare routines and am still trying to find the right one.

    Currently having microdermabrasion and using the simple skin clear products. Well my skin is definitely softer, not sure about clearer though!

    Perhaps more water to 'flush out toxins'

    xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

