Bleeding Hearts

The first thing I have made using my own jam. They’re clearly just jammy dodgers, but I made them and I think Bleeding Hearts is a good name for them.
It’s a really simple recipe:
225g All-Purpose Flour
175g Margarine/Butter
130g Caster Sugar
1 Egg Yolk
Mix together the flour and butter in a mixer or with an electric whisk, until they look like breadcrumbs.
Add the sugar and egg yolk and continue to mix until the mixture starts to come together. I had to add a little water to form a proper dough.
Knead the mix to form a smooth dough, then roll into a ball, wrap in cling film and put into the fridge for half an hour.
When the dough is chilled, roll out onto a floured surface and cut out your shapes of choice.
Place shapes on a baking tray (with baking parchment or similar non-stick thing) and bake at 180 degrees for 10 to 15 minutes. My oven is really rubbish so I always have to bake things longer, usually judging by colour if they’re done.
After baking, cool on a wire rack. When cool, take two biscuits and stick together with jam!

I got about 10 sandwiched biscuits out of the batch, with a small amount of leftover dough that I just pressed into a circle and used as a taster, hehe 🙂

DSC01090 DSC01091

DSC01092

As with most of my baking, they’re not perfect, but I’m not so bothered. They’re all slightly unique in their shape and they’re maybe a little crunchier than I had intended, but they’re yummy, and that’s the most important thing as far as I’m concerned 🙂

I always have a little struggle with my conscience over recipes that call for either just egg yolk or just egg white, I hate waste!! So I used the egg white that didn’t go into the biscuits and whipped up a small batch or meringues, so I probably am going to make lemon meringue cupcakes this week!

Hope you’ve enjoyed you weekend,
Betty
x

7 thoughts on “Bleeding Hearts

  1. Thank you.
    I've done a fair amount of dairy free baking but never tried gluten free, my basic understanding would suggest that you just need to substitute the flour with a gluten free flour, although I'm sure I've read something about needing xantham gum as well (?)
    Thank you for reading 🙂
    Betty
    x

    Like

Leave a Reply

