Lemon Curd and Chocolate Caramel Cupcakes

I got to make cupcakes yesterday as we were having some people over for a little party to celebrate the fact that my boy is back in the country. As much as I love baking, I’m still trying to limit myself to only making things when I know there will be a lot of other people to eat them before I do :/ To capitalise on the opportunity I decided to make two different types of cupcake, a lemon curd cupcake and a chocolate caramel cupcake.
The recipes might seem a little odd, I decided not to go for the full vegan recipes this time, but still had to substitute some ingredients for vegan alternatives as my boyfriend doesn’t eat dairy.

Lemon Curd Cupcake:
1 cup flour
3/4 cup caster sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
Pinch of salt
3 tablespoons of vegan margarine
1/2 cup soy milk
1 egg
2 teaspoons lemon curd

Mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and margarine with an electric whisk or in a food mixer.
Add half the milk and the lemon curd and mix until just blended.
Whisk the egg into the remaining milk, then gradually add to the bowl, mixing until smooth.
Put the mix into cases and bake for 20 -25 minutes at 170 degrees.

Once the cakes were baked and cooled I spread a small amount of lemon curd over the top, then frosted. I cheated on the frosting and used a tub of Betty Crocker Vanilla Frosting and coloured it yellow (I probably only used about half the tub).

Chocolate Caramel Cupcakes:
3/4 and 2 tablespoons flour
2 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
3/4 cup caster sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
3 tablespoons vegan margarine
1/2 cup soy milk
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix the flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, salt and margarine with an electric whisk or food mixer.
Whisk the egg and vanilla into the milk, add half into the mixture and mix until blended.
Add the remaining milk mixture and mix until smooth.
Put into cases and bake for 20 to 25 minutes at 170 degrees.

Once the cakes were baked and cooled, I cut holes in the top of each and filled with a teaspoon of caramel (some were filled with vegan butterscotch sauce for Pete) the replaced the cut holes and frosted with Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge Frosting.

I still ate more of the cakes than I should have, and have a small selection left, but it’s still better than eating 24 cupcakes on my own.
The chocolate caramel cupcakes were amazing. The lemon curd ones were also nice, but not to quite the same level. They may have been a little too sweet, might have been better with lemon juice and zest in the cake mix rather than lemon curd, but still putting the lemon curd on top.

The cocktail umbrellas were really just for fun. I bought a box of about 150, months ago and need to think of uses for them!

Hope you’ve all had a good weekend.
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

