Fun House

“Fun House, A Whole Lot Of Fun, Prizes To Be Won, It’s A Real Crazy Show Where Anything Goes”

Remember the 90’s kids show Fun House? I loved that show, and this weekend I came the closest I ever will to being a contestant on that show (given I’m 26 years old and it was cancelled in 1999), when a friend decided to hold her 25th birthday celebrations at Playzone, Portsmouth!
For those of you who don’t know; Playzone is a massive indoor soft play centre filled with slides and nets and bridges and all sorts of structures for climbing on/jumping off. While it’s primary target audience is toddlers and children, there are weekly adult sessions or you can hire the whole place out over night for parties, complete with laserquest, buffet, breakfast, and you can provide your own alcohol (by arrangement).

The Playzone session kicked off at 9.30 and, after a brief safety talk (mostly common sense stuff) we were let loose in the play area! Everyone ran off in a suitably child-like manner, all in different directions to discover all there was play on!
It didn’t take long for the boys to gather at the top of the red slide, which was practically vertical most of the way down, goading and challenging each other to take the leap. Then, after they’d all done it, they moved onto the girls. I’m pretty pleased to say that, after a little bit of sitting on the edge Oh-My-God-ing and deep breathing, I did have a go. I did not enjoy it one bit, it was awful! Some people seemed to love it and used it repeatedly, once was more than enough for me, but at least I had a go! I don’t know how kids do it, it must be so much more intimidating for them.

Rope Swings, Fireman’s Pole, Rope Bridge

The tame Rainbow Slide, Blue Slide with Ball Pit and Terrifying Red Slide

Human Mangle

Fun in the ball pit

In all honesty, it was thoroughly knackering, and I didn’t even throw myself into it as much as some people! After about an hour and a half some of us were definitely flagging, me included. That place is better than the gym for burning calories! I’ not going to need to exercise all week.
As the birthday girl was a primary school teacher, there were a fair few well organised games going on, although I decided to sit out for a bit as running around fuelled by rum and coke (and having had an upset stomach most of the day) had left me feeling a little peaky. I suspect tucking into the kids party style cold buffet didn’t do much to help that either (cold pizza, cold sausage rolls, cold cocktail sausages, ham sandwiches, egg sandwiches, dairylea sandwiches….).
A bit of a break did me good and by 1am, when the Laserquest session began, I was ready to play again! We played a total of three laserquest games, two where it was everyman for himself and one where we were in teams. Unsurprisingly I wasn’t exactly the highest scoring player but I was on the winning team for the last game (although my actual contribution was minimal).
Time for sleeping was minimal, after all the games and time for people to calm down, it was after 4am before I got to sleep and we were woken slightly before 6 by an announcement that breakfast was being cooked. I managed to drag myself out of my sleeping bag, ate a sausage bap then headed out as the staff needed to clean up before the kids session started at 8am (I do not envy that job).
I slept most of the day on Sunday and ache like hell today, but some of the others must surely feel worse the way they threw themselves into out, coming out complete with cuts and bruises. Overall, it was a fun night and definitely not your standard 25th birthday celebration. Plus for £40 per person for a full night of entertainment complete with food (even if it wasn’t exactly gourmet), it wasn’t exactly too expensive.

If you get the chance to go to one of these parties, or need inspiration for your next birthday, I would definitely recommend something like this.

Hope your weekend was fun, if not as active!
Betty
x

One thought on “Fun House

Leave a Reply

