Vegan Chocolate Truffles

Now it is December, I can just about allow myself to think about Christmas.
For a number of reasons, I am trying to do a Nothing New/Handmade type gifts this year. Basically, no big brand goods. I haven’t had as much time for trawling charity shops or crocheting as I had hoped, so it’s looking like a lot of my gifts are going to be food based!

Yesterday I made Vegan Chocolate Truffles that are (hopefully) going to be Christmas presents (if I don’t eat them all first). They were so easy to make, so I guess if I do eat them all I can always just make more (although I may not fit into my party dress).



Recipe


The recipe is actually really adaptable, so I’ll give you the ingredients I used but also some suggestions for variations that you might want to try.

I used;

  • Approximately 100g of cashew nuts (mine weren’t roasted, you could use roasted but only if they’re not salted too)
  • A small amount of soy milk (you could easily substitute with regular cow’s milk, any other type of milk substitute or even just water)
  • 400g dark chocolate (I used dark and made sure it had no milk/animal ingredients to make mine vegan, but you can use milk chocolate if you prefer and don’t need to make them vegan friendly)
  • A good glug of Kahlua (there are so many alternatives you can use here, any spirit/liqueur you like – Baileys, Whiskey, Rum maybe even Creme de Menthe for an interesting minty twist? Or you can skip the alcohol all together and use a teaspoon of vanilla essence or other food flavour essence)
  • Some cocoa powder and/or icing sugar
  • You will need some kind of food processor, doesn’t need to be fancy, I used my small Kenwood Mini Chopper and it was fine.
The number you make will depend on the size of your final truffle, but using teaspoons full of the mixture I made about 28 truffles from these ingredients.
How to;

1. Soak the cashew nuts in water until soft. Some recipes will recommend you do this overnight, but I only soaked mine for 2 or 3 hours and they were fine. Once soft, drain off the water.
2. Put the cashews into you food processor and blend until you have a reasonably smooth paste. Add the soy milk/alternative as required to help the paste form without making it too wet. I found I had to mix a bit then scrape around with a spatula to make sure all the bits got mixed. My final paste looked and felt quite gritty, so it doesn’t need to be totally smooth. I didn’t use mine straight away so put it in a jar in the fridge until I was ready to make the truffles.
3. Melt your chocolate. Usually I’m a microwave chocolate melter, but as I was using so much chocolate and wanted this recipe to go well, I used the old pyrex bowl over a pan of hot water method. Once it’s all melted take it off the heat and allow to cool for a few minutes before the next step.
It’s really hard to resist dipping your finger in 400g of melted chocolate 🙂

4. Now combine your cashew nut paste and chocolate and add your spirit/liqueur/flavour of choice. Make sure you stir it thoroughly so that the chocolate goes all the way through the nut paste. Once combined, cover the mixture and put it into the fridge for maybe half an hour. The chilling is necessary or you will really struggle to make the truffle balls.

My combined chocolate and nut paste

5. Now it’s time to make truffles! Take small amounts of the mixture (depends on the size of truffle you want, I used teaspoon sized scoops) and roll it in your hands to create a rough spherical truffle shape, the roll in your cocoa powder and/or icing sugar. Most truffles come rolled in cocoa powder but I always think this is too bitter so I mixed my cocoa with some icing sugar to take the edge off. The rolling can help you get the shape as well, as it will stop them sticking to your hands. I placed my finished truffles in mini cake cases, but they can just be placed on a tray covered with greaseproof paper or cling film.
This stage can get very messy, I had to wash the excess chocolate and cocoa powder off my hands after about 3 or 4 truffles.

6. The truffles need to be left to set, you can do this in the fridge but I just left mine on the side as my fridge is far too tiny to accommodate a whole tray of truffles as well as it’s regular inhabitants.

And, that’s it!

So far, I’ve managed to only eat one, and that was a necessary tester! The final product is probably a little firmer than I was expecting, maybe a bit more fluid in the nut paste, or a bit more nut paste in the overall mixture might fix that. Or I might just pour a load more Kahlua on a couple and see what that does.

Now, mine probably aren’t going to win any beauty prizes, but if they looked too good people might not believe I made them!

I keep thinking of more variations that I could try; coating the finished truffle in chopped nuts, or having a whole nut in the centre, or a whole nut inside and chopped nuts outside for your own sort of Ferrero Rocher, or topping with sprinkles, putting a whole raspberry in the middle, making them with white chocolate, making them with some of the fancy flavour chocolates from Hotel Chocolat (like their caramel flavour chocolate!)…..I think this list could go on. Any other suggestions are welcome too.

I do have one specific variation in mind that I will let you know about once I’ve tried it to see if it works.

As a final note, I would like to welcome my newest blog followers! Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy this post and my others to come.

I hope December is going well for you so far, and that the build up to Christmas isn’t causing you too much stress or annoyance!

Love,
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

