The Budget Stylist: Winter Skin Care

Now, I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels a need to slather myself in moisturiser in the winter. A combination of cold air, winds, heating and woolen fabrics all conspire to leave my skin dry and dull. As a result, I’m always on the look out for new skin care products to try out.
So, when I saw an article on The Stylist website about ‘Winter Skin Savers‘, I was excited. However, on flicking through their recommended products, I was disappointed. Everything was so expensive! The average cost of the products featured was £51.65, with the most expensive being £216 (Sisley All Day All Year Essential Day Care)! There were a few cheaper products; a Kores lip butter at £5.10, Neutrogena Cracked Heel Cream at £5.98 and Yes to Carrots Body Butter at £8.99, but I was left with the distinct feeling that more affordable products were severely under-represented.
I’m not having a go at The Stylist, I’m sure they know their audience better than I do, but I just have a thing about what I consider to be overpriced products, or at least, lack of acknowledgement of the fact that not everyone has massive beauty budgets and that budget beauty is as important as high-end products. Everyone, no matter what their income, should be able to look after their appearance and treat themselves if they so desire. Yes, expensive products have a place, some people like the luxury of the brands, maybe they do work better, but cheaper brands can still work well!

Anyway, I didn’t just write this to rant. I thought I’d put together my own little selection of winter skin savers, for under £10.

Boots Simply Sensitive Day Moisturiser. 125ml. £2.79.
This is my current face moisturiser of choice. It’s as effective at keeping my skin soft and moisturised as any other product I have ever used, and is ridiculously cheap. It’s light, non-greasy and has added SPF 15 protection. My skin can get quite oily and this doesn’t make that worse. I use it day and night and I think it’s great.

Olay Classic Beauty Fluid. 100ml. £4.79.
This is the product that I replaced with the Boots moisturiser, not because I was unhappy with how it worked, it really was a cost cutting measure. Olay Beauty Fluid is a classic, and products like thiss have stuck around for a reason! There is also a sensitive skin version.

Yes To Carrots C Through The Dry Spell Deliciously Rich Body Butter. 250ml. £9.25
Ok, I haven’y actually used this product, but when I need a new body butter, I’ll go for this one. Yes to Carrots was the runner-up in The Ecologist’s Eco-Beauty Heroes of 2011, and that’s what’s sold it to me!

Bio Oil. 60ml. £7.70.
I have used Bio Oil for years, primarily for its scar reducing properties. As a moisturiser, it’s really intensive, I use it on properly dry skin (feet, eww) and on my elbows which get especially dry and chapped at this time of year. It really does work on scars as well, and, although I’ve never tried, I’m sure it will on stretch marks too.

Figs and Rouge 100% Organic Balm. 17ml. £4.99
I actually have the pomegranate version, but though coco vanilla sounded yummy too. I initially bought it as just a lip balm, but with having a cold I found it is also really good for the dry skin I got on my nose, and I’ve also used this on my elbows. It uses all natural ingredients, smells gorgeous and properly moisturises you lips (or skin) rather than just putting a waterproof barrier on them like some petroleum based lip balms.

Soap & Glory The Righteous Butter. 300ml. £10.21
Ok, so this is a bit of a cheat as it’s a bit more than £10, but I couldn’t not include it. If you haven’t already tried this then you’re missing out. Smells great, moisturises really well, pretty packaging. Soap and Glory products always make me feel like I’m properly indulging myself, and I love them.

So, there you go, a selection of great products for your skin in this cold weather, without breaking the bank. Then again, there’s always Vaseline!

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend,
Betty
x

Leave a Reply

