My Weekend (Mostly) In Pictures: Cake-Pops and Clothes

I decided to give myself a break from work over the weekend and get involved in some things I’ve been meaning to do for a while.

On Saturday, I broke out my cakepop maker, that my sister bought me for Christmas. It wasn’t the first time I’ve used it, but I didn’t take pictures last time! I’m really impressed with it. It’s so simple to use and cooks so quickly. I like cakepops, they’re really cute, but I’ve never been able to get them right with the crumbled cake and frosting method. This bypasses that and just cooks the cake mix into a ball shape! So there’s less faffing around making the cake balls and more time for decorating!
002
My Cake Pop Maker
008
Tiny Spherical Cakes
010
Jammy Cake Pops

015

I added some sprinkles into the cake mix for fun, putting little colourful flecks throughout the cake 🙂 I’m still experimenting with decoration. Last time I tried standard icing, which didn’t work at all, fondant icing, which worked but was very time consuming and melted dark chocolate, which was the easiest. This time I tried vegan white chocolate, which I was initially disappointed with, but looked better when set, chocolate frosting, which was messy but worked and just rolled in sugar, which was very easy! The ones rolled in sugar also had jam inside, which I did using my new fancy injector nozzle for my piping bag 🙂
That wasn’t the end of my cake related activity. On Saturday evening we went to a 30th birthday party that had a kid’s party theme. There were so many sweets, treats, snacks and cakes! I came away with this beautiful cupcake (I was too full to eat it on the night!), which has further inspired me to improve my cupcake decorating skills.

016

On Sunday, I moved from baking onto sewing, and got back to work on the dress that I started ages ago! Ideally, I’m hoping to wear it to ZOMGbloggersbash next Monday, but I’m not sure I’m going to get it finished on time. I’d already cut out most of the pattern pieces, so it was mostly just sewing the pieces together, which is quite nerve racking as I’m not the most accomplished seamstress (my most used tool is my seam ripper!). It took me quite a while to get started, but managed to sew together most of the top, both the sleeves and the skirt before I was hit with a mega headache and had to stop. I’ve been taking pictures along the way and will write a blog post about the whole process when I’m done.
018
I’m making the long sleeved version 🙂
022
My silver chick pincushion, a present from my grandparents

After lying down for a few hours, dosing myself up with paracetamol and then stuffing myself with pizza, I felt a bit better. We spent the evening with out recently engaged friends, talking weddings, playing board games and eating apple and blackberry pie. It was a really lovely end to a great weekend 😀

Finally, I wanted to welcome all my new followers and thank you all for reading my blog!
Hopefully I won’t be too busy with work to post again this week.
Lots of Love,
Betty
x
7 thoughts on “My Weekend (Mostly) In Pictures: Cake-Pops and Clothes

  1. Those cake pops look yummy! I want a cake pop maker now. I've got a donut one in the cupboard that I haven't used yet haha.

    Your little silver chick pin cushion is so cute!

    Megan Jane xo

    Like

  2. Thank you for all your comments. The cake pop maker was definitely an inspired gift choice from my sister. Still need to work on finding the best coating though, guess that means I'll have to make more soon (damn, lol).
    Betty
    x

    Like

Leave a Reply

