Bargain Hair Recovery

When I keep going on about having no money at the moment, I am really serious. Despite the ever worsening condition on my hair, I can’t even afford to treat it, let alone get it cut! Or at least that’s what I thought.
Earlier this week, I was reminded of a bargain hair solution by @QueenOCuts – Coconut Oil! So yesterday I finally got round to heading out to a shop to pick some up. Unsurprisingly, my local Co-op didn’t have any, but the international food store just down the road did. I picked up a 500ml tub for Β£2.39!
For those of you that aren’t familiar with coconut oil; it comes in a tub as a solid, but doesn’t smell of coconut – so it might seem like the name is a little misleading.

To use as a hair treatment;

  • Scoop some of the oil out of the tub, I used my fingers, but you could use a spoon or some other implement.
  • The oil will melt pretty quickly with the heat of your hands, then massage into your hair, focusing on particularly dry or damaged areas – that’ll be the ends then – and into your scalp if you feel the need.
  • Next, take a damp towel and microwave for 2 or 4 minutes, then wrap around your hair – do be careful that the towel isn’t too hot though. Once the towel got cold I took it off and just left a shower cap over my hair for about an hour, as I had the time and my hair is a state, but you could leave it for less time if you need.
  • When you’ve left the oil in as long as you want, rinse with warm water and thoroughly shampoo. I also put a basic conditioner through it quickly, just for luck!
After Treatment
My hair looks and feels amazing! It’s shinier, smoother, less frizzy, less brittle, thicker, fuller – basically fully revived! This is even after blow drying and straightening. I’m really impressed
I hardly made a dent in the amount of oil in the tub, so it’s going to last quite a while. Especially as this isn’t an every wash type treatment. I don’t think I’ll need to do this more than once a week, but we’ll see how it goes. Through all my bleaching, colouring and styling my hair is really, really damaged, so will need more treating than most.
It’s also a double bargain, as I believe coconut oil can also be used as an intensive body moisturise.
Even if you can afford ‘proper’ hair treatments, I’d really recommend you give this a go. I plan to keep on using it even after my financial situation improves – who doesn’t want to save money when they can!?
Let me know if you try this out, or if you have any other cheap beauty alternatives!
Love,
4 thoughts on “Bargain Hair Recovery

  1. Thanks so much for this! I'm totally going to try this out. I too am absolutely stupidly strapped for cash, so I know how hard it is to afford simple things like hair cuts and even a shop bought treatment. My hair hates me right now as I bleached it twice from black to orange. It's at that awful stringy stage (which only lasts a while)and I'm not paying some stupid price for someone to cut my hair! Besides, I think DIY hair cuts are bestter anyway, as then at least you actually get what you want! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

