Au Revoir, GlossyBox

I have unsubscribed from GlossyBox.
It’s something I’ve been considering for a while, but have held on so far due to the promises of special edition boxes; from the Christmas box, to the Valentines box and most recently the Harrod’s collaboration box. Each time my expectations were built up, but unfortunately were rarely met. The major disappointment of the Harrod’s box was the final straw for me.

The collaboration with the iconic London store was hyped up so much, with a drawn out teaser on Facebook providing letters as clues, followed by a big launch party at Laudree in the Harrod’s store that received heavy tweet coverage from the GlossyBox ambassadors.
I don’t think I was quite as excited as some, I wouldn’t say I’m a massive fan of Harrod’s, but the promise of the luxury the box would bring did keep me subscribed! Unfortunately, when I opened my box I just didn’t feel any excitement – Molton Brown Shower Gel, Clarins Body Moisturiser, SKII Anti-Age Cream, Lancome Mascara Mini and a Valentino Perfume Sample. It wasn’t terrible, but it just wasn’t anything special, which was really what the hype of the box was built on. Molton Brown is a good brand, but it was just a shower gel sample, not exactly a luxury item. I really like Clarins, but it’s just a body moisturiser, and I’ve received a lot of Clarins lately, again, not a real luxury item. An Anti-Age cream is never a glamourous luxury item, no matter who makes it, although it is nice, light and easy to use. Lancome, again, good brand, but how excited can you get about a sample sized mascara. Then, with perfume, a perfume is only luxurious if you like the smell, and in my opinion, this one smells like soap. All-in-all, a bit deflating.

So, I finally decided I’ve had enough of GlossyBox letting me down and unsubscribed. At least that was easy, a click of a button on the website and not having to call up and explain my reasons!

Since I first discovered and subscribed to GlossyBox, the beauty box market has grown massively, along with my awareness of it. There are now a great range of services to subscribe to. At some point I want to try out another one, but I can’t justify subscribing just at the moment. due to finances :/
Top of my list for trying out were Carmine and She Said Beauty. I’d heard good things about both and was really torn. I probably preferred the things I’ve seen in Carmine boxes, but She Said Beauty is cheaper and comes in a turquoise box with hot pink tissue, which is probably one of my favourite colour combinations. However, as of this week, the decision has been made for me, as Carmine has been acquired by GlossyBox (although their buyer has moved to She Said Beauty!).
There is also Latest in Beauty, which offers themed boxes, similar in size to other beauty boxes (but a bit more expensive) as well as smaller boxes with three ‘luxury samples’. Latest in Beauty also differ from other beauty boxes as it isn’t a subscription service, you just buy the boxes as and when you like, plus, you get to see what’s in the box before you buy. This might take some of the excitement out of it, but at least you know what you are paying for and don’t have to buy if you don’t like the contents!

Maybe I shouldn’t complain, but I’ve just felt consistently let down by the GlossyBox hype and I’m just not as excited about the boxes any more. I suppose things might change if they stop focusing so much on their special edition boxes and investing so much time and effort into over-hyping, and , if so, I will happily try them again. For now, I’m taking a step back from GlossyBox.

Love,

7 thoughts on “Au Revoir, GlossyBox

  1. I saw a few people receiving them and it made me really want one lol. I asked my boyfriend and assured him it wasn't that much money for beauty that is good quality. He pointed out to me that all that money built up over a year… I really don't spend that much on beauty items and even if I wanted to I should just splash out on a product that I really like and want rather than being surprised and perhaps disappointed by what I received. He's right of course. If I was earning a shed load of money I'd sign up in a heart beat but it is a lot of money to spend on stuff you may not want for the average person.

    Like

  2. Yeh it's a very good point. I might just put a tenner a month in a pot (it'll earn as much interest there as in a bank account at the moment!), then buy myself something special at Christmas 🙂
    Betty
    x

    Like

  3. I got stung with Glossybox because apparently they send you an email when you click unsubscribe and you have to confirm in the email (or something?) so I got charged even after I cancelled! Agree with all your reasons too, I was always disappointed and can put that money to good use buying things I actually like!xxx

    Like

  4. I could never really understand the Glossy Box thing. I am kind of set on my ways with the beauty products I use and can't stand to spend mpney on something that I don't know is quite right. From what you say it looks way ober hyped. You can often get hold of testers so perhaps you could try out new products this way?

    Like

Leave a Reply

