JolieBox March

In the comments made on my last GlossyBox post, I kinda came to the conclusion that beauty boxes weren’t all they were cracked up to be and that I’d probably be better off putting £10 in a jar every month then buying myself something I actually want.

Despite that, so far, I have still held on to my last remaining beauty box subscription – JolieBox. 
At the end of last year, the French company JolieBox took over the UK beauty box service Boudoir Prive. The  first JolieBox came out in December and was very impressive, including a full size OPI shatter polish, New CID lipgloss and concealer brush amongst other things. There was no box in January due to the takeover. The box in February wasn’t as amazing as the December box, but with a cute Jane Iredale lip and cheek stain and Macadamia Oil Deep Repair Masque, it was still better than GlossyBox! After my disappointment with GlossyBox, I was fully prepared to be disappointed and want to cancel JolieBox as well. 
When it arrived I was really pleasantly surprised! Four really usable, full sized products, from great brands plus a cute little JolieBox makeup bag mirror. 
I received a Yardley Body Wash in English Lavender, Eyeko Eyeliner in Plum, an LCN Nail Polish in a pearlescent white shade and a Davines Authentic Moiturising Balm, as well as the little mirror.
I love all of these products. 
Yardley are a great, long standing British brand renowned for luxury bath products, so it’s pretty hard to complain about receiving a full size bottle of their body wash – especially as I love the smell of Lavender, it’s so relaxing!
I received another Eyeko eyeliner in the February GlossyBox, but fortunately this was a different colour. Called Plum it’s a purpley-red brown shade, I’m not sure when I’ll use it, but I like it. 
I hadn’t heard of LCN Nail Polishes before, but I love nail varnish and there are very few colours I wouldn’t be able to find a use for. While the shade I got doesn’t knock me off my feet with excitement, it’s certainly a welcome addition to my collection.
I also had never heard of Davines before receiving this box. The balm can be used on you body, face or hair for intense moisturisation. So far I’ve only used it on my arms. It smells nice and applies really easily, but I don’t understand why you’re supposed to wash it off after applying it?
The box also contained the first issue of JolieMag, a small magazine produced by JolieBox with features about new beauty products and trends. I liked the magazine, it was well put together and was interesting to flick through. It was nice that it wasn’t completely full of high end products that I’d never dream of buying, and the feature introducing some of the JolieBox team was a nice touch.
As I really liked this box, I’m holding on to my subscription for at least another month, but am prepared to cancel if the next box isn’t as great. 
I do have one question though. What’s the bag all about? All the items come inside a bag inside the box that characterises beauty box services, but I don’t see why.
Does anyone still care about Beauty Boxes, or was it just a fad that has passed? I think if/when I fall out with JolieBox it’ll be the end of my dealings with beauty boxes, at least for a while. I still really like the surprise of receiving a box of goodies in the post and finding out about new products, but the thoughts about saving the money and putting it towards something I know I want and will enjoy – it’s not like I don’t have a wish list as long as my arm!!
Love
Leave a Reply

