Books I Love: One Day

I might be a bit late to the party on this one; but I love this book!
I hadn’t heard of it before the movie came out, as much as it pains me to admit it. At first I wasn’t keen, I’m very resistant to jumping on band waggons, but in the end it just sounded like too good a read. It’s taken me a while to get through it, not because I haven’t enjoyed it but because I struggle to find time to read. If anything, I’ve gone out of my way to make extra time to read it because I enjoyed it so much!

I obviously won’t go into too much detail, as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone. The book tells the story of two characters, Emma and Dexter, on the same day every year from the day of their graduation from uni and for 20 years afterwards. They remain friends but develop their own lives and go through all the things you would expect in life; partners, jobs, friends, marriages, children, highs and lows. It was so well written and I found I really related to so much of it, being someone in my mid-twenties trying to find my place in the world. There is also so much emotion in it, as I said, both highs and lows. In one part, it was so sad I was on the verge of tears and had to put the book down.
I would recommend this book to everyone. The balance of the male and female characters means I think both men and women could really engage with the story. If you’re not a reader, I guess I would say see the movie, although I haven’t seen it myself. I’m afraid I am one of those people who almost always thinks the book is better than the movie, so I’m torn as to whether I want to watch it or not. I’m also really not a big fan of Anne Hathaway, so it seems unlikely. But I really love the story, so I still might crack.
Have you read One Day? Any other book recommendations? I’ve got back into a bit of a reading habit!

Hope you are well,
Love,

3 thoughts on “Books I Love: One Day

Leave a Reply

