Raspberry Granola Yogurt (No Added Sugar)

Over the past few weeks I have been trying to reduce the amount of refined sugar I eat. Both for general health and for weight reasons.

Unsurprisingly, the majority of my refined sugar came from snack foods; biscuits, chocolate, sweets. The good stuff basically! Even though there’s still a lot of ‘hidden’ sugar in other foods that I’m also trying to avoid.

So, I’ve had to come up with some healthier replacement snacks and foods that stop me getting hungry and in need of a snack in the mid-afternoon. One of my favourites is currently this:

005Greek yogurt, Raspberries and my own homemade Granola 🙂

I took the picture like this, because it looks better. But, truth be told, it tastes much better like this;

008All mixed and mashed up 🙂

I started off putting a tiny amount of sweetener in the yogurt, but I find that I don’t really need it anymore.
It’s really filling and really yummy. So it’s win-win basically.
I really love the granola. As well as having it like this as an afternoon snack I’m eating it for breakfast every morning. It’s really easy to make and to adjust the recipe, to be honest I don’t think I’ve made it the same twice.
Granola Recipe
Like I said, this recipe is really flexible, but these are the basic ingredients I work around. (adapted from Sarah Wilson’s “I Quit Sugar Cookbook”)
  • 4 tablespoons of Coconut Oil (not just good for your hair!)
  • 3 tablespoons of Brown Rice Syrup or 2 tablespoons of Honey
  • 2 cups of Porridge Oats
  • 1 or 2 cups of Dessicated Coconut (optional)
  • 1 or 2 cups of Various Chopped Nuts (optional)
  • Raisins (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons Chia Seeds or other seeds (optional)
Other optional ingredients include; coconut flakes, other dried fruit, chocolate chips…..etc
Melt the oil. Mix in the syrup/honey. Mix in other ingredients. Spread out on a baking sheet. Bake at 180 degrees C for 20 minutes or until golden brown, turn occasionally.
Couldn’t be much easier really (yeah you could buy it, but it’ll probably be at least 20% sugar).
Unless I crack under the cravings and eat a whole chocolate cake in the near future, you’ll probably be seeing more healthier recipes from me – I’m working on sugar-free cake though.
Hope you’re well
Love,
Betty
x
4 thoughts on “Raspberry Granola Yogurt (No Added Sugar)

  1. Looks delicious – I will def try it. We usually just do bircher muesli (oats soaked in juice mixed with fruit and yoghurt) but this looks much more exciting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

