Homemade Nutella

To be honest, I’ve never been a big fan of Nutella. I’d always rather have a straight-up, no messing chocolate spread than a hazelnut chocolate spread. However, I first decided to make my own ‘Nutella’ a few months ago when I was reading Sarah Wilson’s ‘I Quit Sugar’ book and cookbook and really trying to reduce the amount of processed foods and sugars in my diet.
Recently I have let things slide a bit and have been no where near as good at watching what I eat. However, I still always have a jar of this spread in my fridge for some slightly-less-guilty snack time. As it’s based on Sarah Wilson’s recipe it is low sugar and so much healthier than regular Nutella – not that that’s hard, real Nutella is more than 50% sugar (56.7g of sugar per 100g). I am personally horrified that this stuff is advertised as a great breakfast for kids, and don’t even get me started in Nesquik….anyway.

Honestly, this so yummy and really not very hard to make – I have it smothered on rich tea biscuits, often as a mid-afternoon snack ๐Ÿ™‚

The recipe is based on one from Sarah Wilson’s ‘I Quit Sugar’ cookbook, I have made some changes based on personal taste and availability of ingredients.

Homemade (Low-Sugar) Nutella

  • 1 cup nuts – I have mostly used hazelnuts (obviously), but have also tried mixing in some other nuts, particularly Brazils, but you can experiment
  • 1/4 cup cocoa (Sarah Wilson states Raw Cacao, as this doesn’t have added sugar, I have used both raw cacao and regular cocoa and don’t notice much difference in taste)
  • 4 tablespoons honey (Sarah uses Brown Rice Syrup as this contains more complex sugars, but I have found it really hard to get hold of and, personally, have no problem with honey!)
  • 1 tablespoon vanillaย 
  • 1 tablespoon nut oil (Sarah says Macadamia, I use Groundnut, but I don’t see why you can’t just use your own oil of choice)
  • 1/2 cup milk (again, Sarah says coconut but I use soy but regular milk, or any other milk should be fine. Amount can be increased or reduced depending on your desired final texture)
  1. Spread nuts on a baking tray and bake at 180 degrees C for 10 minutes (until browned)
  2. Rub as much of the skin off the nuts as you can
  3. Grind nuts in a blender/food processor (I only have a mini food chopper, which doesn’t completely puree the nuts but I quite like the slightly rough texture it produces)
  4. Mix in the rest of the ingredients
  5. Spoon the mixture into a sterilised jar* and keep in the fridge
The latest batch that I made and photographed actually turned out a little thicker and drier than past batches, which you can kind of see in the pictures. I think I may not have put enough milk in. You can also see it’s ย not as smooth as ‘proper’ Nutella, but that’s because of the limitations of my food processor, I quite like the chunks, makes it feel a bit healthier ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s still yummy despite all this ๐Ÿ™‚
In theory, having this should help me be healthier, if I eat a couple of rich teas with this spread instead of a more calorific dessert. I’m still working on that in practise though :/
Anyone discovered any interesting or different recipes lately?
Love

*To sterilise a jar, wash it and place the jar and lid (not a plastic lid) in the oven at around 150 degrees C for 20 minutes. Fill and seal jar straight from the oven (using oven gloves!)

5 thoughts on “Homemade Nutella

Leave a Reply

