Bargain Hunting

Before you even think it, no, not the TV show. I’m sure I would be quite awful at that, the things I like other people tend not to like and I’m very bad a haggling.

Anyway, last weekend my friend Emma and I had a bit of a day out bargain hunting in Southampton.

We started off visiting the Guildhall for The Vintage Fair. I often find vintage fairs can be a bit hit and miss, there are usually some nice items at good prices as well as a lot of horrible stuff and a lot of over-priced stuff – although at least that way I suppose there is something for everyone!
In fear of a massive queue of bargain hunters I arrived early but only found a handful of other people waiting for the doors to open. It was quite nice to be able to wander round and check out all the stalls while it was still quite quiet. The main Guildhall area, which I’d pretty much only been in for gigs before, was filled with vendors selling a whole range of vintage and vintage style clothes, accessories and homewares as well as a little stand selling cupcakes and tea.
There was actually a lot of stuff that caught my eye, sadly not much of it within my extremely limited budget. I actually got so caught up in looking at things that I didn’t take very many photographs. The pictures below show a few of the things that caught my eye.

  • Fur coats – obviously. These places are usually full of fur coats, both fur and real. I’m a major sucker for fur, although don’t think I could ever buy real, even if it is vintage. If I had the money I expect I’d have a small collection of fur coats by now, but I couldn’t even afford one right now!
  • An awesome/weird ram head belt. I actually photographed this as an example of the weird shit you can see at a vintage fair, but it’s actually grown on me since.
  • Hats. I love hats! Sadly, every one I tried on was way too small for me 😦
  • So much jewellery, vintage, vintage reproduction and hand-made. Again, if I had a bigger budget I’d probably have bought tonnes.

Vintage Fair 1

I actually only bought one thing from the fair, a dress to wear at the Old Spitalfields Market Pop-Up Vintage Fair event next week – which I will write more about soon. I’ll keep the dress in full under wraps until the event, but here’s a bit of a sneak peek.

040

After we’d seen all the vintage fair had to offer us, we still had an itch for bargains so went on a bit of a charity shop spree. Emma found several lovely dresses, including one by Henry Holland for £10. I didn’t find any clothes but did get a lovely set of Chinese bowls and spoons for £2.99 – ok so there are four spoons but only three bowls, £2.99!!

035

It’s been ages since I’ve done any proper charity shopping, it was a bit disappointing not to find any clothes – I really would love some new clothes but am working on a super limited budget in the run up to Christmas 😦 I’ve even struggled finding good stuff on eBay, my mind seems to only be drawn to expensive things lately :/

Has anyone else found any good vintage or charity shop bargains lately?

Love,

Betty

x

One thought on “Bargain Hunting

Leave a Reply

