Flavourtown Bakery

Forget Lola’s and the Hummingbird Bakery, if you want the best cupcakes in London (and beyond, but they are based in London) you have to go to Flavourtown Bakery!

I only discovered these guys last weekend whilst wandering round Old Spitalfields Market. To be honest, I’d started to go off cupcakes a bit, most of the ones I’ve had recently have been quite disappointing – too sweet, too dry and just not really achieving the flavour they were aiming for. However, my eyes were initially caught by their Bad Ass Brownie cupcake – an amazing combination of chocolate cupcake and cheesecake and frosting. I was pretty sure it contained a whole days calories in a single cake, but it did look good.
As we still had stalls to see, we wandered off with the intention for returning for cake post-shopping.
Sadly, when we returned, the Bad Ass Brownie’s had sold out!! This was a little disappointing, but the rest of the selection available was plenty to take my mind off the disappointment 🙂

I ended up getting a box of four, as narrowing the selection down to just one would have been far too hard. I went for a Salted Caramel, Cookie Dough, Caramel Apple and Carrot Cake. The guys on the stall were really friendly and we had chatted for quite a while, so they also threw in a free Gingerbread cupcake which was their free secret cupcake of the week (if you like their Facebook page and show up at their stall in Old Spitalfields Market and ask for the secret cupcake by name, they’ll give it to you for free – while stocks last!)

086
Clockwise from left; Salted Caramel, Caramel Apple, Carrot and Cookie Dough
085
Secret Flavour – Gingerbread

 

I was not disappointed. The cakes were moist and the flavours were great without being ridiculously sweet.
The Carrot Cake cupcake was possibly a contender for being one of my favourite carrot cakes and definitely better than any carrot cake cupcake I’ve ever bought. The cake was moist and had a good amount of carrot and cinnamon. The cream cheese frosting was beautiful and complimented the cake well, without being too rich or sickly sweet.
Caramel Apple was also really, really nice and amazingly moist. As with the carrot cake, the cake itself was moist and had the amazing cream cheese frosting on top, plus a hidden centre of caramel that made this a very special cupcake.
Salted caramel was unusual, but not in a bad way, it made me think of toffee popcorn 🙂 With a caramel cupcake, a salted caramel centre and a caramel drizzle on top this threatened to be a seriously overpowering sugar hit, but the salt provided a great balance that gave the popcorn-y impression.
Cookie Dough was the first one I had whilst still at the market, and I wolfed it down so quickly it’s hard to comment on, but it was definitely enjoyable 🙂
Gingerbread was also amazing! It was like Old Jamaica Ginger Cake, which I love, with the addition of frosting. Plus the little fondant gingerbread man on top was super cute!

They also had a really interesting festive Mince Whoopie Pie. I didn’t get one, as I’m not a big fan on mince pies, but one of my friends did and I tried a bit – it was actually really nice. Turns out I dislike the texture of mince pies more than the flavour.

If you go to Old Spitalfields Market I strongly recommend you check them out. They do also take orders, but only if you live in London (booooo). Their menu is positively mouth-watering, I’d love to be able to try their maple bacon cupcake, Malt Teaser cupcake and Cheesecake cupcake 🙂 Plus, the guys are really nice to chat too.

I really want cake now :/

Love,

Betty

x

5 thoughts on “Flavourtown Bakery

Leave a Reply

