Graduation Day

Just less than two weeks ago I finally graduated from my PhD and brought 8 years of University to an end.

It was a lovely sunny day, although a little bit hot to be sat around in academic robes. The robes for PhD graduates from the University of Southampton are a delightful combination of burgundy and light blue, which made selecting an outfit a little difficult. I went with a very safe black dress with a simple crane pattern, from Monsoon (in the sale).

Me in my ‘beautiful’ robes

I was pretty nervous before the ceremony – having to walk across a stage in front of a hall full of people, what if I fell over? Plus, when you get a PhD you have to kneel on a stool in front of the Vice Chancellor and they put the hood over your head. What if I completely misjudged the stool and ended up collapsing into the Vice Chancellor’s lap?

Yeah, I get a bit ridiculous and paranoid about these things.

Needless to say, nothing terrible happened. I walked up, knelt down, got my hood put on, had a brief chat with the Vice Chancellor and left. Now I’m 100% officially a Doctor and even have the certificate so I can go get my title changed on my bank cards πŸ™‚

My Mummy and Me πŸ™‚
Me and Pete
Me and my Dad πŸ™‚

It was a nice day, especially as my parents came down to visit and Pete got the day off work to be able to be there. In the evening we were also joined by my sister and her boyfriend for dinner, it isn’t often we get the whole family together like that πŸ™‚

These past few weeks have been pretty crazy. A few days after my graduation we had to head up north for my cousin’s wedding, followed a few days later by my 28th Birthday. In addition, we’ve been trying to make some pretty big life decisions about moving home and our job situation, as I am still struggling to find work. So all-in-all it’s been pretty hectic and chaotic.

For those of you who follow me on Twitter or Facebook, you might have noticed that I have recently become an Instagram-er, as I got a new iPod for my birthday that can use Instagram, unlike my phone. I haven’t posted too many photos yet, but think it’s definitely something I could get carried away with! Find me by searching ‘betty_leopard’, and let me know if you use Instagram too, I’m very keen to find interesting people to follow.

Thanks for reading,
I hope you’re well.

Love

3 thoughts on “Graduation Day

Leave a Reply

