Dysgu Cymraeg and the Llŷn Peninsula

I really love living in North Wales. It’s a beautiful place.

The week before last I was lucky enough to be able to go away to attend a week-long Welsh course on the Llŷn Peninsula. The Llŷn is really close and really beautiful, but I have only visited a couple of times in the nearly two years since we moved.

I stayed at a place called Nant Gwrtheyrn (roughly pronounced Nant Goor-thay-rn), on the north coast of the Llŷn, near the town and popular holiday destination of Nefyn. Nant Gwrtheyrn is a former quarrying village which, after being abandoned and falling into ruin, has been reclaimed and renovated as a holiday location, wedding venue and Welsh language school. They run courses that run from very first introductions to Welsh through to advanced courses for those fluent in spoken Welsh to practice written Welsh or learn about Welsh culture in Welsh.

Ever since we moved to Wales I have really wanted to start learning Welsh. Anglesey, where we live, has one of the highest percentages of Welsh speakers in the country (and the world) – our neighbours speak Welsh as do most people in our town and a large number of people I work with. I have never had a bad reaction to not being able to speak Welsh, but I have always felt that learning was the right thing to do, and would definitely be a helpful addition to my CV if (when?) I need to apply for a new job here.

The course was really enjoyable, I learnt a lot, gained confidence in speaking Welsh and also had great opportunity to relax in the fabulous location.

It was so peaceful and tranquil. On my first evening there I walked down to the beach and sat, listening to the sea and without seeing another person. After having felt so low and unhappy in recent weeks it was so nice to have some genuine down-time away from the rest of life (including digital life, with next to zero mobile phone signal) to rest and relax.

 A series of views from Nant Gwrtheyrn out across the Irish Sea

By the time my week on the course was over I didn’t really want to have to leave and get back to the real world. Hopefully, when Pete is back from working away, in September, we might be able to get away for a break somewhere on the Llŷn and try to find that genuine peace and quiet again.

If you’re interested in learning Welsh then I would absolutely recommend looking into courses at Nant Gwrtheyrn. If not, I would still definitely recommend you visit the Llŷn for a holiday – Wales isn’t always top of the list of holiday destination options, but that means a lot of people are missing out.

If you do speak or are learning Welsh I’d love to hear from you – I’m keen to find people I can practice on!

Oh yeah, for those who don’t speak Welsh, the tile of this post ‘Dysgu Cymraeg’, means ‘Learning Welsh’. Dw i’n dysgu Cymraeg – I am learning Welsh!

Hope you are well,

Love

Betty

Leave a Reply

